≡ Menu

The Battle of the Brave Supports Veterans


In honor of Veterans Day weekend, Corvallis and University of Washington amateur boxers squared off Friday, Nov. 7, in the Battle of the Brave, a charity event hosted by the Corvallis and Oregon State University boxing clubs. The battle is the clubs’ way of contributing to a larger movement to support the retired armed forces.

Boxers went toe to toe at the Life Community Church in a professional, Las Vegas-style setting, with proceeds from the event going to charity aiding veterans.

Each fight lasted three exciting rounds, testing the boxers’ stamina and their will to come out on top.

Caleb Lau, OSU boxing club president, gladly took the chance to offer the club’s support and hopes that, in the future, the university’s boxing club can do even more for good causes.

“We just have a lot of people in the military and ROTC in our program, and we really just wanted to do something for the community,” said Lau, a junior in political science. “We’re trying to be more involved with the community, more involved with OSU. Right now, we’re a volunteer student organization, and we’re very much working towards that SSO, that sponsored student organization.”

Lau is involved with ROTC himself and feels veterans affairs are something that can’t be ignored.

“I think these people have given everything to the country. They’ve given us the opportunity so that you don’t have to serve,” Lau said.

The Battle of the Brave took place in the midst of a movement spearheaded by former Corvallis Mayor Julie Manning during the last year of her time in office. Manning began a 10-year campaign in 2013 to provide housing for the homeless, a population with a disproportionate number of veterans.

Corvallis boxing club coach Dan Dunn said the club’s goal for this school year was inspired by the mayor’s strategy.

“Last year we did food drives and filled the pantry for the college, did a lot of really cool things” Dunn said. “This school year, we wanted to focus on homelessness, children of war vets — any way we can help out the veteran community.”

Dunn said it’s the ability to relate to veterans that makes them important to him.

“For me, it’s easy. I’m a retired army guy. I spent 25 years in the military, so I just retired in 2011,” Dunn said. “All the guys here in uniform, I know almost all of them.”

Dozens of military personnel, many in full uniform, turned up to see the fights. Veteran Jonathan Haynes cheered Oregon’s boxers while dressed entirely in American flag apparel. He said he’s glad to see students getting involved in veterans’ wellbeing.

“It’s a very good thing. Very interesting, and I certainly hope we have a lot more of it,” Haynes said.

Haynes is a former fighter pilot who served in the Air Force from 1965 to 1976.

“I’m happy to see the support being given here,” Haynes said.

Source: Chris Correll, The Daily Barometer

The Battle Between NCBA and USIBA


Post National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) era, American collegiate boxers are now in the midst of a toe-to-toe match between two running boxing governments: the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCBA) and the United States Intercollegiate Boxing Association (USIBA).

College boxing used to have more fame when it was a part of the NCAA, but after a Wisconsin-Madison boxer died as a result of an unfortunate bout (details are fuzzy depending on who is talking), boxing was kicked out in 1960, after being deemed too unruly and violent to support.

These words almost sound like a compliment to the boxing community.

NCBA was formed 16 years later, cleverly establishing their logo as “Safely Governing College Boxing Since 1976”, and has since swept the country. The association is divided into three regions across the country, each responsible for hosting regionals before meeting for the national show in spring.

For several decades, this boxing government thrived, with over 30 schools responding under it, and holding 17 shows in just this current season.

In recent years, a slight attitude shift took place, forcing USIBA to be formed.

The first concern was based around the academy schools having an unfair advantage since their teams were substantially larger, had a longer training period and hosted closed shows that only academy schools were allowed into, thus allowing their fighters to have more experience.

Acknowledging and permitting sanctioned female bouts was a larger driving point for the foundation. After the Army and Air Force overlooked female fighters in the 2011 and 2012 national championship, USIBA was quick to advertise their acceptance towards girls in the sport.

In fact, USIBA is still boasting on the front page of their website that under their government, the University of San Francisco hosted their first co-ed show in 2013.

To make the switch more appealing from NCBA to USIBA, the new group is eager to hand out boxing scholarships towards incoming freshman fighters. Top schools like University of Nevada, Reno, Lock Haven University, Miami University, and the academy schools aren’t budging, however.

To parry USIBA’s strong move, NCBA has responded with a larger acceptance of female fighters on a national level, as well as effectively spreading the connotation that USIBA is nothing but a bunch of pansy boxers.

NCBA’s focus is on the fact that USIBA doesn’t believe the competition is fair with the academy schools, to which many universities’ response is along the lines of “not to us.” These schools that are hard NCBA fans see the competition as an excuse to train harder for nationals, not just drop out and create their own league.

The fight between the two groups is far from over, but we can expect to see the country’s collegiate teams become more divided before they are united by one government.

Source: Lauren Pinkerton, RoundbyRoundBoxing