≡ Menu

2011 National Golden Gloves Tournament of Champions

The 2011 National Golden Gloves Tournament of Champions will be held in Indianapolis, Indiana April 25 – 30 at the Indiana Convention Center.

The Golden Gloves is the name given to annual competitions for amateur boxing in the United States. The Golden Gloves is often the term used to refer to the National Golden Gloves competition, but it also can represent several other amateur tournaments, including regional golden gloves tournaments and other notable tournaments such as the Intercity Golden Gloves, the Chicago Golden Gloves, and the New York Golden Gloves.

Since the first Golden Gloves tournament in 1923, the Golden Gloves of America, Inc. and its member franchises have provided an opportunity and environment for young athletes to develop lifetime skills. Hundreds of dedicated administrators, coaches, trainers and counselors have unselfishly spent countless times and effort to assist young people in the development of personal character and athletic skills. The Golden Gloves program has led the way in promoting amateur boxing in the United States and has produced the majority of competitors for America’s boxing teams in the Pan-Am and Olympic Games.

Former Golden Gloves Tournament of Champions winners include: Muhammad Ali, Oscar de la Hoya, George Foreman, Joe Frazier, Mike Tyson, Rodolfo Gonzales, Evander Holyfield, Roy Jones, Jr., Sugar Ray Leonard, Sonny Liston, Joe Louis, Floyd Mayweather, Jr., Michael Spinks, and Demetrius Andrade.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment