≡ Menu

NCAA Boxing Championship Teams and Individuals

The NCAA ended sanctioned meets in 1960. But during that golden era of college boxing, it was the biggest draw for many schools. It was not uncommon for attendance at dual meets to exceed 5,000.  Wisconsin, Michigan State, Idaho State, and San Jose State were power houses and repeat champions.

If you’d like to wax nostalgic and scan the list of former NCAA championship teams and individuals (1932 – 1960), just click here (download) Discontinued. The download includes other discontinued NCAA sports besides boxing — Men’s and Women’s Fencing, Div II Men’s and Women’s Gymnastics, Div II Men’s Hockey, and Div II/III Women’s Golf.

And here is some other related reading that you may enjoy:

The Six-Minute Fraternity: The Rise and Fall of NCAA Tournament Boxing, 1932-60

Lords of the Ring: The Triumph and Tragedy of College Boxing’s Greatest Team

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment